Sole Trader - Mileage expenses recording

anthony.brindle

09 Apr, 2014 03:22 PM

Hi there as a sole trader I have entered mileage allowance for business trips as indirect expenses under motor expenses and then on the other side against drawings, however I'm now wondering about how I actually take this out of drawings as the value of the drawings is going up and up. Do I simply make a withdrawal from the drawings to my personal bank account ?

Currently the amount caused by the motor expenses is sitting on the Drawings account as a liability on the balance sheet.

Equally I have entered some allowable expenses for "Use of Home" as office such as council tax relief but have account 1 set as indirect expense and account to set to a creditor which is the house hold bill account as that is where the council tax bills came out of, any help with these 2 points would be appreciated.

Thanks

1. Support Staff 1 Posted by Admin on 10 Apr, 2014 12:41 PM

Hi Anthony,

Do you use a dedicated bank account for your sole trader business or do you use your own personal bank account?

I'm not as familiar with sole trader businesses as I am with corporations but I'll try to explain what I do and perhaps it will make some sense.

It helps to think of the business as a separate person, with its own money (bank accounts, petty cash and so on). For my business I have a main bank account in the company name. This means I can use the reconciliation functions in Easy Books to check I've entered all the expenses, I have the correct amounts and I've entered them against the correct account. This is a big benefit to having a dedicated bank account for the business.